Bob Dylan – Too Late

Bob Dylan’s Springtime in New York is the latest instalment in his vast unreleased catalogue containing tour rehearsals, demos, and outtakes from the dawn of the ’80s.

Untitled

It’s a rich and rewarding era for Bob, it’s also a period marked by questionable choices, particularly in terms of track selection, something the new set highlights with the inclusion of a previously unpublished song called ‘Too Late’ – Dylan’s stream of consciousness take on death and destiny.

While the music industry was grappling with the arrival of new trends and technology, from MTV to digital recording, Dylan was writing and recording new songs for a new decade, creating an often overlooked, yet essential new chapter in his extensive and complex studio catalogue. Released by Legacy Records in September 2021, Bootleg Series Vol. 16: Springtime in New York 1980–1985 takes in the tail end of Dylan’s Christian phase (1981’s Shot of Love), through his excellent work with Mark Knoplfer (1983’s Infidels), up to one of his more criticised studio albums (1985’s Empire Burlesque).

This simply exceptional song is included on Disc 3 of the Deluxe 5-CD box-set and thankfully also makes the cut for the Standard 2-CD Edition. It may sound familiar to Dylan aficionados who have heard an arguably inferior reworking of the song called Foot of Pride, an Infidels outtake from the original Bootleg Series Volume 1-3 (1991). ‘Too Late’ differs markedly, and for the better, but the seeds of that track can be heard here, if anything providing a fascinating transition.

You know what they say about being nice to people on your way up
“You might meet ‘em again on your way back down”

There are two versions: the shaggy acoustic sketch and the full band demo – quite possibly the best thing on the whole set. It’s non-selection for the excellent Infidels album, while perplexing, charts the creative path Dylan chose to traverse, and the track serves up an intriguing new angle.

“The journey of ‘Too Late’ and ‘Foot of Pride’ is fascinating,” says series co-producer Steve Berkowitz, who has worked on all of Dylan’s Bootleg series releases. “To listen to the three takes included, to me that’s the listen. There’s the acoustic version, then the full band version, and a couple of days later it becomes ‘Foot of Pride’. That’s the journey, and it’s a fascinating journey. For me, those three versions are a really big deal. Each take is important, and I like that we put out one in advance and people reacted to it really well.”

This entry was posted in Bob Dylan, Never Heard It Before...Until Now!. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Bob Dylan – Too Late

  1. Great tune! As I said in my review of this collection when it came out in September, it kind of was a revelation to me.

    My knowledge of Dylan’s catalog has huge gaps. I’m best familiar with his earlier work (up to Desire). I’ve also listened to Infidels and his last one “Rough and Rowdy Ways.”

    I really dig Dylan’s singing on Springtime – something I can’t say for all Dylan I’ve heard.

    • I like his singing from this era too. I just read your article and good call on this great song. I’m across most of his catalogue, and have always had a soft spot for Infidels and this era in general. Thanks for reading and commenting Christian.

  2. badfinger20 (Max) says:

    I love when Bob is loose and he has had so many voices…each era had a different one. In the 80s..Infidels was one of my favorite albums of the decade.

    Great write up as usual. I really like Too Late…that version. This package sounds great.

  3. I like this Bob era a lot.

  4. manvmusic says:

    Can’t go wrong with good ol’ Bob. Even during this era. Thanks for the write-up with this one, kind sir!

  5. Have bought the 2 CD edition and love playing this song followed by what it soon morphed into, namely “Foot of Pride”, yet more proof of Bob’s inexhaustible genius.

  6. OldYellow says:

    This is not merely exceptional, this is a straight-up classic. Foot of Pride doesn’t hold a candle to this. The last few verses in this version just glow with the fire of genius. And, yeah, this looser period is easier to criticize, but damn if the yields aren’t worth it.

    • Couldn’t agree more OldYellow. What a song Too Late is. A massive standout on a superb box set. The lyrics in the last two verses are remarkable. I agree about Foot of Pride. A complete yawnfest when compared to Too Late. Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment.

  7. Pingback: More Album Cover Outtakes | THE PRESS | Music Reviews

  8. Francis Field says:

    This is a very good review and I agree that Too Late, the band version, is an amazing song, it’s probably now my favourite Bob tune, it’s funny that such a strong song wasn’t used but luckily Infidels is still a fine album. The other big surprise was how many excellent songs weren’t used for Shot of Love, I’ve since got a cd with the many other great outtakes, maybe one day a bootleg series just for Shot of Love. Thanks again for a really enjoyable article and I’ll definitely read more of yours. Francis

    • Thank you very much Francis, and for taking the time to comment. It’s an awesome song and a great collection that I’m super-glad I bought. Shot of Love is somewhat underrated I think, and could’ve been even better had he included some of those great outtakes. Infidels is still a fine record no doubt, one of my mid-era favourites. Thank you again Francis.

Leave a comment