High Fidelity – Costello in the 80s

Elvis Costello in 1983

High Fidelity – Costello in the 80s

  1. High Fidelity
  2. I Hope You’re Happy Now
  3. Lover’s Walk
  4. Man Out of Time
  5. New Amsterdam
  6. Brilliant Mistake
  7. This Town
  8. A Good Year for the Roses
  9. Blue Chair
  10. Human Hands
  11. From a Whisper to a Scream
  12. Coal Train Robberies
  13. Suit of Lights
  1. Everyday I Write the Book
  2. The Only Flame in Town
  3. The Loved Ones
  4. Crimes of Paris
  5. Veronica
  6. The Long Honeymoon
  7. Human Touch
  8. Beyond Belief
  9. Strict Time
  10. Pills and Soap
  11. American Without Tears
  12. Jack of All Parades
  13. Watch Your Step
  14. Shipbuilding

Total running time: 1:31:59

Tracks taken from the following albums:
Get Happy!! (1980)
Trust (1981)
Almost Blue (1981)
Imperial Bedroom (1982)
Punch the Clock (1983)
Goodbye Cruel World (1984)
King of America (1986)
Blood & Chocolate (1986)
Spike (1989)

This 27 track collection covers the albums, artistic phases, evolutions and bouts of fancy of the The Bespectacled One in the 1980s – arguably Elvis Costello’s most artistically rewarding decade. Coming off as one of the most important artists of the new wave era in the late 70s, Elvis expanded his sound with the unstoppable soul rock of Get Happy!! and Trust, covered his favourite country numbers on Almost Blue, created his Sgt Peppers masterpiece Imperial Bedroom then went all pop in the mid-80s. Back on track his first solo outing was the stripped back King of America and the reunited Attractions classic Blood and Chocolate. This reformation was short lived as he would pursue a solo career pretty much from the eclectic  Spike onwards. From there on in his output, generally without the Attractions, would become more and more expansive and collaborative.

This entry was posted in Elvis Costello, Mixtapes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to High Fidelity – Costello in the 80s

  1. A lot of really good music on that collection. I have all those albums except Spike (CD)

  2. Pingback: More Album Cover Outtakes | THE PRESS | Music Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s